Bad Neighbours 2 Review

Genre: Comedy

Year: 2016

Rating: MA

Runtime: 92 Minutes

Main Cast: Seth Rogen, Zac Efron, Rose Byrne, Chole Grace Moretz

Production Company: Point Grey Pictures

Written By: Seth Rogen, Andrew J. Cohen, Bredon O’Brien, Nicholas Stoller, Evan Goldberg

Directed By: Nicholas Stoller

neighbors-2-poster-25676483810-f0337672d4-o

Written By Nelson Cumming

“Bad Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising” is a retread of the first movie with a similar premise and similar gags. My overall conclusion was that the movie is not as good or funny as the original. That being said, “Bad Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising” had me laughing a little throughout but there was nothing that stood out as comedy gold. At least the gross-out gags in this raunch comedy didn’t linger on, the performances were decent and the story had direction. Despite the movie having direction “Bad Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising”is a hit and miss comedy with a lot of missed at the beginning and a lot of hits towards the end.

 

Think “Bad Neighbors” when it comes to the premise but it is a soroity instead of a fraternity, so the raunch comedy comes from women rather than men. Seth Rogan and Rose Byrne play parents who have bought a new home and are trying to sell their old home which is in escrow meaning the new homeowners are willing to buy their house if for 30 days the homeowners are satisfied with the living situation. Since the members of the Kappa Kappa Nu sorority club are partygoers, they refuse to quiet down for the new neighbors. This leads to an ongoing turf war that ensues just like the original movie.

 

This movie goes for a gross-out gag from the beginning that is similar to the gross-out gag from “Grown Ups 2” in terms of bodily fluids landing on the face, or in the case of “Bad Neighbors 2” half fluids and half solids. Rose Byrne vomits on the face of Roger as they are having sex (She was on top) to which she says “Honey, I think I’m pregnant” Rogan responds, with his face covered in vomit, “I think I just came” The image of vomit on Rogan’s bushy face was not ascetically pleasing, to say the least. It brought me out of the movie for quite a while.

 

Despite the exchange of bodily fluids, there were funny moments, but they were followed up by gags that didn’t work. Two memorable scenes include a gag with an airbag (similar to the original) and one that involved the soroity girls selling weed to pay the rent. Both were stupid in their hilarity and they made me laugh, but then there would be a scene where things just didn’t work, either because it didn’t make any sense or they were pushing the envelope too far. It was inconsistent on the level of hilarity, but at least it was funny and had its moments.

 

The best I can compare “Bad Neighbors 2” with iGrimsbysey” but it is not as over-the-top but it was not a mean-spirited or as uneven as “The Boss” There really hasn’t been a film I have reviewed where I was really struggling to write about it because my final thoughts were messy at best. But here is how I would sum it up: This film has a good plot direction, yet at the same time it was inconsistent in its humor, but the humor was good it was great. The actors were good at their roles but they were never fully fleshed out to the point were I cared as much as I’d like to. I liked the whole story but at the same time I hated it. I really don’t know how to adequately express these thoughts. I was miffed, but I didn’t mind seeing it at the same time. I am leaving on a weird note **3/4

Leave a Reply

