Star Trek Beyond Review

Genre: Science fiction
Year: 2016
Rating: M
Runtime: 122 minutes
Main Cast: John Cho
Simon Pegg
Chris Pine
Zachary Quinto
Idris Elba
Main production company: Skydance Media
Written by :Simon Pegg
Doug Jung
Directed by:Justin Lin

star-trek-beyond-poster-international

Written by Nelson Cumming

On Thursday, Star Trek Beyond was my first taste of the Star Trek franchise. It is also the first Star Trek movie released after Leonard Nimoy’s death. It has the blockbuster spectacle that would get the casual movie audience interested but ultimately, I felt the film was either boring or uneven. There were only a few scenes I thought worked well.

A surprise attack in outer space forces the Enterprise to crash-land on a mysterious world. The assault came from Krall (Idris Elba), a lizard-like dictator who derives his energy by sucking the life out of his victims. Krall needs an ancient and valuable artifact that’s aboard the badly damaged starship. Left stranded in a rugged wilderness, Kirk (Chris Pine), Spock (Zachary Quinto) and the rest of the crew must now battle a deadly alien race while trying to find a way off their hostile planet.

The things about this movie that I didn’t like were actually the things that critics were praising: the action, the comedy, and the character development. Overall I liked some of the payoffs, but I didn’t like the journey getting to the pay offs. I thought The action sequences were dull and generic. It reminded me of the action sequences in Independence Day: Resurgence and The Divergent Series: Allegiant. Also, at the first action sequence, the camera was shaking constantly to the point of nausea . I understand it’s because the ship was under attack, but I felt it was over excessive and unneeded. However, the way they played with the forces of gravity in the climatic battle was cool.

Because I believed the action was mostly dull, there are comedic elements in this movie that try to give it tonal variation. Aside from Spocks lines, delivery and timing, no one was funny. There were lots of comedic lines that I felt were unnatural and out of place. When one of the characters gets teleported back to the ship he felt uneasy when he was teleported. He said, “my innards are a barn door”. I got the sentiment, it just sounded odd and out-of-place. That is just one example of the many comedic lines that I thought didn’t work. Which was a disappointing experience for me as it was partially written by Simon Pegg, whom I really love.

My thoughts on character development were that there was either no character development or I felt that it was rushed. That being said, there is a pretty good twist at the climax with Krall the villain. There was also a poignant moment with Spock as he looks into a picture. These were two payoffs that were good but the road getting there with the boring action, the bad comedy, and the rushed development made the payoffs feel underserved. It made me question if the good payoffs were worth it due to a lack of buildup.

Overall the movie does get better as it goes along but for me, it was such a shaky start that by the time it builds momentum, I wasn’t into it anymore. At the halfway mark, my “bad movie threshold” was at a point where nothing could redeem it. It is not in the “one of the worst movies” category as it has some redeeming value, but the value wasn’t worth it for me. It was normal bad so it will get a normal bad rating *1/2

Leave a Reply

